Home Page

Yealmpstone Farm Primary School

'The doorway to learning for the whole community.'


The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) Framework explains how and what your child will be learning to support their healthy development. They will be learning skills, acquiring new knowledge and demonstrating their understanding through 7 areas of learning and development.


There are three prime areas of learning which are:

  • Communication and language
  • Physical development
  • Personal, social and emotional development

These prime areas are those most essential for your child’s healthy development and future learning.



As children grow, these prime areas of learning help them to develop skills in four specific areas. These are:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the world
  • Expressive arts and design


As YFPS, we use these 7 areas to plan your child’s learning and activities.  We fully understand that each child is an individual in their own right and will develop at their own pace. Consequently, we ensure we are supporting them to make sure that their activities are both suited and tailored to meet your child’s unique needs. We strongly believe that children in their early years learn by playing and exploring, being active; developing creative and critical thinking which takes place both indoors and outside.

To develop children's reading skills, we are using 'Letters and Sounds' to teach children phonics. We support this with the Jolly Phonics scheme and reading books which reinforce the sounds that children are learning in the classroom.

The diagram below gives examples of the areas of learning and development and shows the links between the way in which your child learns and what they learn. Please bear in mind that all children develop at different rates so these examples are for guidance only. They are taken from the Early Years Foundation Stage Development Matters document.

What does the school day look like in EYFS?

What are we learning?