Home Page

Yealmpstone Farm Primary School

'The doorway to learning for the whole community.'

2-5 Curriculum

All of our activities are carefully planned around the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) framework, EYFS seeks to provide:

  • quality and consistency so that all children make good progress
  • a secure foundation where learning opportunities are planned around the needs and interests of the children
  • a partnership between practitioners, parents and/or carers
  • equality of opportunity where every child is included and supported

The EYFS curriculum comprises seven areas of learning and development which shape our curriculum. All seven areas are inter-connected and important for children's development.

Three areas in particular are most crucial for igniting children's curiosity and enthusiasm for learning. We aim to develop learning through these three prime areas:

  • communication and language
  • physical development
  • personal, social and emotional development

The prime areas are supported by the further four areas of learning:

  • literacy
  • mathematics
  • understanding the world
  • expressive arts and design